Thanks for helping keep our in-person classes safe with one-time proof of vaccination (masks are optional). ×

Amir Tahami

Amir stands at the helm as the most senior and followed teacher at, as well as the owner of, the nationally renowned Sun & Moon Yoga Studios in Northern Virginia. In his packed weekly public classes and private one-on-one yoga therapy sessions, he works attentively with students who want an enhanced quality of life through a plainspoken and sensible approach to health and well-being. His innovative techniques blending traditional Indian and Thai yoga influences with restorative postures, therapeutic applications, and somatic movement help students move gently forward on a path of healing, and encourages taking the mindfulness of yoga practice into everyday life. He has thousands of hours of training with teachers including Aadil Palkhivala, Tias Little, Rodney Yee, Doug Keller, and Leslie Kaminoff, and is also certified in Thai Yoga Therapy. Amir is an avid amateur hockey player, recently fulfilled a lifelong dream to design and build his own custom home, and is also known to herd cats.

Amir provides abundant and detailed instructions for how to move and takes his classes and workshops through the paces to practice alignment, energy movement, and clarity of mind. “Paying attention to the body is the hardest part,” he says. But when he’s dictating just exactly what to do with your shoulder blades – like leading with the blades in cat and cow, as opposed to the spine, as you might have always thought, or how to create space between each vertebra or what to do to stretch your connective tissue – the mind becomes laser-focused. He offers wisdom on anatomy and how to bring the lessons of healing into daily life – for knees, neck, back, shoulders, hips, and other parts that have been beaten down from work, injury, disease, aging, or disuse. He gives you the tools to practice these maneuvers at home and then wants you to go out there and live: play sports, climb mountains, expand your reach with a body that can.

Amir's Upcoming Classes

Saturday - February 04, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 2/4/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - February 06, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 2/6/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - February 11, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 2/11/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - February 13, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 2/13/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - February 18, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 2/18/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - February 20, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 2/20/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - February 25, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 2/25/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Yoga Therapy for Your Knees with Amir
Saturday 2/25/2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register
Monday - February 27, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 2/27/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - March 04, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 3/4/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - March 06, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 3/6/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - March 11, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 3/11/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - March 13, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 3/13/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Saturday - March 18, 2023 / EST
Hatha All Levels
Saturday 3/18/2023
11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter
Monday - March 20, 2023 / EST
Yin & Restorative
Monday 3/20/2023
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm

Amir Tahami
Arlington (Studio A)
Register For Full Quarter